Reducing carbon footprint is more than a "buzzword" for hospitality management students

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Knowledge is the key to unlocking change as evidenced by the students enrolled in the Foundations of International Travel and Tourism class this spring.  As part of a class project, hospitality management students calculated their individual carbon footprints and provided suggestions on how they could both reduce their individual emissions and leverage this knowledge throughout the hospitality industry.

Students were shocked, especially when compared to US and world citizen averages, and felt that many people, including themselves, would change their habits if they realized that their daily activities were taking such a toll on the environment. Courtney Harris, a hospitality management sophomore, says "Knowing my carbon footprint makes me want to start doing more now and in my future career."

 The Guide to Reducing Our Carbon Footprint (Spring 2010 Edition) was compiled by class instructor Jennifer Rogla, UNT International Programs Coordinator and adjunct faculty member.   "The self assessment by students was an important first step in the journey to change behavior and ultimately improve our world. Sustainability is not just a niche market but a necessity, and these tips can be applied by anyone, anywhere," says Rogla.  To calculate your own carbon footprint, visit:

Class Roster:  Josalyn Allen, Guadalupe Alvarez, Samantha Baker, April Bass, Kristen Bennett, Amy Blackburn, Nicholas Booth, Courtney Bratcher, Eduardo Chavez Martinez, Wen-Chieh (Jill) Chi, Ashley Coburn, Kathryn Dahl, Lauren Deluca, Rachele Dudley, Eric Erwin, Michael Fajardo, Christine Farokhrouz, Ashley Feidner, Amanda Frey, Elizabeth Gaulke, Mary Gauntt, Tabatha Griffin, Courtney Harris, James Hearne, William Hightower, Julie-Kim Ho, Catlin Hopson, Megan Hubl, Diedre Hurley, Nicholas Johnson, Jee Jung, Raney Kaaa, Yusuke Kasuga, Erin Kirby, Sarah Klepper, Cody Krivyanik, Blake Krynski, Brandon Lamm, Cassidy Mason, Courtney McQueen, Joseph Milano, Krystal Morris, Yui Nakamura, Kristina Noland, Stephen Phomsavanh, Matt Powell, Samantha Ries, Christina Roberson, James Roberson, Alycia Robertson, Mallory Sandlin, Jeffrey Sansom, Shilu Shrestha, Stefanie Spring, Nicole Strickland, Pamela Thibodeaux, Sasha Tiutiounik, Susana Toral-Agreda, Patricia Vanderburg, Mallory Wade, Misty Webb, Erin Weber, Mariah Young, and Blaire Zahn.