Eta Sigma Delta Initiates 48 New Members
December 12, 2011

Eta Sigma Delta hosted their annual initiation ceremony on November 2nd, in which 48 new members were initiated. Eta Sigma Delta (ESD) is an international honor society that recognizes exceptional academic achievement among hospitality and tourism students at the baccalaureate and masters level. ESD is administered by the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education (I-CHRIE), the leading international association devoted to hospitality and tourism education.

The ceremony was called to order by the ESD President, Julia O'Rourke, who introduced Dean Judith Forney to the stage to welcome the attendees. Mrs. Joyce Duesman, Executive Board Member of the Hospitality Management Board of Governors, gave the keynote address to the initiates and their families and friends. During the ceremony, ESD officers and members Julia O'Rourke, Julia Husbands, Ashley Walling, Sajee Halawathage and Nick Lutringer presented the Five Points of Honor: Excellence, Leadership, Creativity, Service and Ethics. The new initiates were invited to the stage to receive their ESD pin, honor cord, and certificate, and shortly after participated in the traditional initiation oath.

Dr. Lea Dopson, Chair and ESD Advisor commented on the high quality of the student body when she explained that the top 20% of the senior class have a 3.52 GPA or higher. "Not only are we seeing significant growth in our enrollments, we are also attracting high caliber students. This is evident in the academic achievements of our students as well as their commitment to gaining valuable hospitality industry work experience," stated Dr. Dopson.

Contact Us:
College of Merchandising, Hospitality & Tourism
1155 Union Circle, #311100
Denton, TX 76203-5017 USA
Voice: 940-565-2436
Fax: 940.565.4348

Visit Us:
Chilton Hall Room Number: 331, 410 S. Avenue C Denton, TX 76201
Email us:

Have questions on content? Please contact us.

Technical problems:

Have questions concerning how the site runs?

Site last updated on January 10, 2018

Disclaimer | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Web Accessibility Policy | State of Texas Online | Emergency Preparedness