SMHM recognizes donors and students at annual scholarship reception
October 26, 2010

The School of Merchandising and Hospitality Management (SMHM) honored scholarship donors and recipients at the annual reception held in the Gateway Center Ballroom on October 21.  More than 90 scholarships, totaling over $70,000, were awarded for the 2010-2011 academic year to qualified SMHM students. Scholarship awards are based on student's academic achievements, career goals, and extracurricular involvement.


Dean Judith Forney recognized SMHM donors who generously support the School and announced a record number of new scholarships for the upcoming year.  "We are extremely grateful for the generosity of our friends and industry partners who believe in our mission and understand the value of supporting SMHM," says Forney.  The new scholarships for the 2010-11 year include: Adea Solutions-Merchandising Dr. Lea Dopson- MIST HSMAI North Texas- Hospitality Management North Texas Hospitality Financial & Technology Professionals- Hospitality Management Richard H. Gundy- Merchandising Richard E. Last- Digital Retailing Robert & Sarah Fugazi- Hospitality Management Ruth Crowley- Merchandising Retailing UNIFOCUS-MIST Zales Corporation- Merchandising


If you would like more information on the SMHM scholarship program, please contact Dr. Christy Crutsinger at  Scholarships applications for the 2011-2012 academic year are due February 1, 2011.

Contact Us:
College of Merchandising, Hospitality & Tourism
1155 Union Circle, #311100
Denton, TX 76203-5017 USA
Voice: 940-565-2436
Fax: 940.565.4348

Visit Us:
Chilton Hall Room Number: 331, 410 S. Avenue C Denton, TX 76201
Email us:

Have questions on content? Please contact us.

Technical problems:

Have questions concerning how the site runs?

Site last updated on January 23, 2018

Disclaimer | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Web Accessibility Policy | State of Texas Online | Emergency Preparedness