44 inducted into International Hospitality Management Honor Society
Dec 17,2013

On November 5, 2013, forty-four students of the UNT Hospitality and Tourism Management (HTM) program were inducted into the International Hospitality Management Honor Society, Eta Sigma Delta (ESD).  These high achieving students boasted a minimum 3.4 GPA for undergraduate students (top 20% of the junior and senior classes) and a 4.0 GPA for graduate students (top 15% of their class).

Of membership in this prestigious organization, ESD inductee Vanessa Yang had this to say, “I believe my membership in ESD will help distinguish me in an increasingly competitive and global job market.  Additionally, this society will allow me the opportunity to be more involved in the community and help my fellow students through service projects.”

The Distinguished Speaker for the induction ceremony was Vice President of Revenue Management Support Services at Hilton Worldwide, Chris Wilroy.  He spoke on the values of Eta Sigma Delta, especially the importance of courage in all endeavors as well as seizing opportunities for self-improvement.

Chair of the Hospitality and Tourism Management program and ESD Faculty Advisor, Dr. Lea Dopson stated, “I am so proud of our newest ESD inductees.  This ceremony celebrates the academic achievements of our top students.  With over 175 in attendance, students were honored by faculty, parents, grandparents, friends, spouses, and children.  It was truly an event to remember.”

Of the society’s values, ESD’s value of “service” has been especially emphasized this year with the opening of the new Hospitality Tutoring Lab, a tutoring service provided by current members to all HTM students.

Eta Sigma Delta (ESD) is an international honor society that recognizes exceptional academic achievement among hospitality and tourism students at the baccalaureate and master levels. Eta Sigma Delta is administered by the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Education (I-CHRIE), the leading international association devoted to hospitality and tourism education.

Professional benefits of ESD membership include the opportunity for outstanding students to distinguish themselves in the eyes of educators, recruiters, and industry executives. Additionally, ESD members have access to a networking system connecting its 90+ chapters that allows for interaction and information exchange between students around the world. From an educational and organizational standpoint, ESD serves as a means of uniting outstanding students for campus activities, fundraisers, and volunteer programs.

The UNT Chapter of ESD has maintained a particularly strong record of service through its consistent offering of tutoring services to all Hospitality Management students.  Such devotion to serving others earned the UNT Eta Sigma Delta Chapter the Chapter of Distinction Award from International CHRIE in 2012. The organization is persistently making exciting strides to continue this tradition of excellence while finding new ways to help members personally and professionally.

2013 Eta Sigma Delta Inductees

Pui Ki Au

Kseniia Bardabush

Mollie Hannah Bates

Helen Deane Baumgartner

Emily Margaret Bingham

Emily Anne Blume

Haley Alicia Brunson

Aaron Charles Buescher

April Marie Burgess

Jessica Ann Cannon

Grant Bryce Darden

Andrew Clayton Dwyer

Kathleen Kelsey Friday

Nicole Marie Green

Alessandra Hernandez

Kelli Brooke Hiroms

Nicole Deborah Hirsch

Jessica Lynn Jones

Hannah Ruth Kearney

Taylor Dayne Kirkman

Anh Ngoc Le

Kathryn Janelle Lentz 

Megan Ashley Marshall

Taylor Margaret Low

Allyson Grace McCurley

Ocean Rhea Martinez

Carlee Lynn Niemeyer

Shealana Deanne Means

Kathryn Priest

Charles Edward Posner

Kathryn R. Trotter

Allyson Whitney Rubenzer

Nick Valle II

Alexandra Carol Umphenour

Marissa Breanne Wencl

Kathryn Christine Walters

Hannah Lee Wilson

Tiffany Nicole White

Dana Lanae Wright

Stacey Diane Wood

Meichun Yang

Keyu Wu

Alison Clare Zellman

Vanessa Chung-Yuan Yang

2013-2014 Eta Sigma Delta Officers

President Hayley Meyer

Vice President Nicole Wegienka

Secretary Alyssa Price

Treasurer Rachel Martin


The UNT Chapter of Eta Sigma Delta would like to thank

National Hot Water for its sponsorship of our program.

Contact Us:
College of Merchandising, Hospitality & Tourism
1155 Union Circle, #311100
Denton, TX 76203-5017 USA
Voice: 940-565-2436
Fax: 940.565.4348

Visit Us:
Chilton Hall Room Number: 331, 410 S. Avenue C Denton, TX 76201 http://cmht.unt.edu/
Email us:

Have questions on content? Please contact us. cmht@unt.edu

Technical problems:

Have questions concerning how the site runs? Sampath.Pamidimukkala@unt.edu

Site last updated on January 10, 2018

Disclaimer | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Web Accessibility Policy | State of Texas Online | Emergency Preparedness